Abingdon Area Archaeological and Historical Society


The Committee — who are they, and who does what?


Committee May 2017s

 Left to right: John Foreman, Elizabeth Drury, Hubert Zawadzki, Jeff Wallis. Francesca Zawadzki, Wendy Robins, Jackie Smith, Bob Evans
Front Row: Manfred Brod with Sandy
Absent: Bob Frampton, Andrew Steele


John Foreman: Chairman/Local History/Lectures/Publicity                                                   To contact, click here

John has been a member of AAAHS for some years and was a keen researcher into Abingdon’s past even before he moved here from Oxford. His interests are Victorian and Edwardian social history and the development of Abingdon’s Thames frontage.


Tim Barnett: Secretary                                                                                                                           To contact, click here


Bob Evans: Town Planning                                                                                                                           To contact, click here


Bob was Regius Professor of History at Oxford until his retirement, and specialised in the post-medieval history of east-central Europe. He has now added to this a current interest in the past of Abingdon and its area, especially the village of Sunningwell.



Andrew Steele: Treasurer                                                                                                                        To contact, click here



Hubert Zawadzki: Membership                                                                                                                   To contact, click here


Hubert has managed to combine his historical research and writing on Poland and Eastern Europe with his role as a history teacher at Abingdon School. Since he retired, besides continuing with research in this area, he is developing a new general interest in local history


Jeff Wallis: Digging/Lectures                                                                                                                       To contact, click here


Jeff is an archaeological fineline illustrator and silversmith/jeweller involved in part time teaching and producing a range of replica-archaeological metalwork. Currently he is researching Bronze Age metalwork from a technical standpoint. His particular interest is studying and illustrating Palaeolithic artefacts and he has contributed illustrations for specialist reports on lithic subjects.


Roger Thomas: AAAHS@50                                                                                                                   To contact, click here


Jackie Smith: Archives                                                                                                                                    To contact, click here

Jackie is honorary archivist for the AAAHS and other local bodies. She has been an active AAAHS member since 1969, and has written on Abingdon pubs and 17th century poor relief among other topics. Her main current interest is in the creation of Albert Park and the development of working class housing.


Valeria Cambule: Publicity                                                                                                                    To contact, click here


 Wendy Robbins

Wendy assists the members of the Committee in their various roles.


Bob Frampton    (Member without portfolio)                                                                                To contact, click here
Bob is a retired law teacher and now writes books on aspects of Abingdon's history.


Functions without Committee Membership
Refreshments at meetings: Bob Frampton 
Outings: Elizabeth Drury
Webmaster: Mary Haynes                                                                                                                             To contact, click here
Contact committee members through the website, or email to: info@aaahs.org.uk